09.12.2022 - Magazine

Cross-docking – logistics at top speed

Efficient supply chains have become an important growth factor for companies. In addition to smooth processes, the speed of processes is particularly important. Cross-docking, as a special method for handling goods, can achieve significant improvements in the throughput times of goods. The big challenge here is the smooth flow of data and information along the supply chain.

LLP: Lead Logistics Provider

Definition: What is cross-docking?

Cross-docking is a logistical procedure for the handling of goods. In this process, the goods are already pre-commissioned by the supplier or sender. This means that the goods do not have to be stored, but are prepared for direct dispatch to the recipient – the end customer. In the so-called cross-docking distribution terminal, the goods are then assigned to the corresponding outgoing goods without an intermediate step and seamlessly forwarded. Put simply, the items to be shipped (usually) arrive by road transport at a goods-in dock on one side of the cross docking terminal. After docking, the products are unloaded – sorted and checked if necessary – and transported by forklift truck or conveyor belt to the outbound dock. There they are loaded into the appropriate trucks for direct transport to the end customer.

Variants of Cross Docking: Transhipment

In the broadest sense, cross docking replaces the functions and processes in the warehouse (storage, warehousing, order picking). Depending on requirements, other services can also be performed in the cross dock in addition to the pure handling of goods. Three variants of cross docking can be defined:

  1. Single-stage cross docking

The goods have already been picked by the supplier and are transported as a logistical unit to the goods receiving area of the cross docking terminal. There, the goods are handled and then sent directly to the recipient.

    1. Two-stage cross docking

    The two-stage system of cross docking is also called “transshipment system”. Here, the goods are sent unchanged to the transshipment point. At the terminal, they are then picked into new goods units before being transported from there to the various recipients.

      1. Multi-stage cross docking 

      The multi-stage system includes further process steps in the cross-docking process. For example, the goods are not only re-picked at the transhipment point, but further services – so-called value-added services – take place. These include, for example, labelling or quality inspection.

      Logistik mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit

      Logistics without a warehouse: When is cross-docking used?

      In many cases, warehouse logistics is one of the most important stations in the supply chain. It is therefore important to make an informed decision about whether cross docking can increase productivity, costs and customer satisfaction in the company at all. But for some goods, picking, handling and distribution can be realised more efficiently through the cross-docking process. For example, non-preserved or temperature-controlled items such as foodstuffs that need to be transported as quickly as possible are suitable for cross docking. In the same way, already packaged and sorted products that are ready for transport to a specific customer can be transported faster and more efficiently by cross docking. Overall, cross docking is particularly suitable for companies with many incoming and outgoing goods and plannable quantities. This is the case in retail, for example.

      2PL: Second Party Logistics Provider

      Advantages of cross docking

      As an inventory-free distribution method, the overriding goal of cross docking is to replace the warehouse for the corresponding type of goods. Direct handling in the cross dock scores with the following advantages:

      • shorter throughput times
      • on-time delivery
      • minimised storage capacities
      • reduced warehousing costs
      • optimised inventory
      • reduced transport costs

      Logistik mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit

      Smooth flow of information and data as a condition

      In cross docking, the most important thing is a smooth process along the supply chain. To be truly successful, the entire logistics from transport to the IT solution must be coordinated. As a lead logistics provider, Huettemann takes care of all process steps along the supply chain and ensures a coordinated supply chain at all levels. In this way, optimisation opportunities can be precisely identified – including whether cross docking is the better solution than the “warehouse” system in some cases. Huettemann’s supply chain experts identify these and other solutions both in independent supply chain consulting for new customers and in existing supply chain management.

      Have we aroused your interest?

      Write to us or give us a call.

      +49 2065 909 111

        *required

        Services

        In the Huettemann Group we bundle our extensive service portfolio for one goal: to find the perfect, customised logistics solution for you. In addition to our global transport and warehouse services, we offer you numerous logistics services along the entire supply chain. In this way, we develop logistics concepts with added value that suit you.

        Group

        Competent, diverse, high-performance and future-oriented: As a family-run international logistics company with headquarters in Duisburg, we have been turning our passion into a profession for more than 65 years and today, more than ever, we stand for customised logistics solutions along the entire supply chain.

        References

        Every industry has its own logistical requirements. As a broadly positioned logistics company, we adapt to the goods flows and wishes of our customers. We go one step further: we become an integral part of your process chain.

09.12.2022 - Magazin

Cross-Docking – Logistik mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit

Effiziente Lieferketten sind für Unternehmen zu einem wichtigen Wachstumsfaktor geworden. Dabei kommt es neben reibungslosen Abläufen vor allem auf die Geschwindigkeit von Prozessen an. Das Cross-Docking kann als spezielle Methode für den Warenumschlag erhebliche Verbesserungen bei den Durchlaufzeiten der Ware erzielen. Große Herausforderung dabei ist der reibungslose Daten- und Informationsfluss entlang der Supply Chain.

LLP: Lead Logistics Provider

Definition: Was ist Cross-Docking?

Cross-Docking (deutsch: Kreuzverkupplung) ist ein logistisches Verfahren für den Warenumschlag. Dabei wird die Ware bereits vom Lieferanten bzw. Absender vorkommissioniert. So muss die Ware nicht eingelagert werden, sondern ist für den direkten Versand an den Empfänger – den Endkunden – vorbereitet. Im sogenannten Cross Docking Verteilerterminal wird die Ware dann ohne Zwischenschritt den entsprechenden Warenausgängen zugeordnet und nahtlos weiterversendet. Vereinfacht ausgedrückt, kommen die zu versendenden Artikel (meist) per Straßentransport an einem Wareneingangsdock auf einer Seite des Cross Docking Terminals an. Nach dem Andocken werden die Produkte entladen – bei Bedarf sortiert und geprüft – und per Gabelstapler oder Förderband zum Ausgangsdock befördert. Dort werden sie für den direkten Transport zum Endkunden in die entsprechenden Lkw geladen.

Varianten von Cross Docking: Umschlag 

Das Cross Docking ersetzt im weitesten Sinne die Funktionen und Vorgänge im Lager (Einlagerung, Lagerhaltung, Kommissionierung). Je nach Bedarf können neben dem reinen Warenumschlag im Cross Dock auch weitere Leistungen erfolgen. So lassen sich drei Varianten des Cross Docking definieren:

  1. Einstufiges Cross Docking

Die Ware ist bereits vom Lieferanten fertig kommissioniert und wird als logistische Einheit zum Wareneingang des Cross Docking Terminals transportiert. Dort wird die Ware umgeschlagen und anschließend direkt an den Empfänger versendet.

    1. Zweistufiges Cross Docking

    Das zweistufige System des Cross Docking wird auch „Transshipment System“ genannt. Hier werden die Waren unverändert bis zum Umschlagplatz geschickt. Im Terminal erfolgt dann eine Kommissionierung in neue Wareneinheiten, bevor diese von dort aus an die unterschiedlichen Empfänger transportiert werden.

      1. Mehrstufiges Cross Docking 

      Das mehrstufige System schließt weitere Prozessschritte im Cross-Docking-Prozess ein. So wird die Ware am Umschlagplatz nicht nur neu kommissioniert, sondern es finden weitere Leistungen – sogenannte Value Added Services –  statt. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel die Etikettierung oder die Qualitätsprüfung.

      Logistik mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit

      Logistik ohne Lager: Wann wird Cross-Docking eingesetzt?

      In vielen Fällen bildet die Lagerlogistik eine der wichtigsten Stationen in der Supply Chain. Daher ist es wichtig, eine fundierte Entscheidung darüber zu treffen, ob Cross Docking die Produktivität, Kosten und Kundenzufriedenheit im Unternehmen überhaupt steigern kann. Doch bei manchen Waren können Kommissionierung, Umschlag und Distribution effizienter durch das Cross-Docking-Verfahren realisiert werden. So eignen sich beispielsweise nicht konservierte oder temperaturgeführte Artikel wie Lebensmittel, die so schnell wie möglich transportiert werden müssen, für das Cross Docking. Genauso können bereits verpackte und sortierte Produkte, die für den Transport zu einem bestimmten Kunden bereitstehen, durch Cross Docking schneller und effizienter transportiert werden. Insgesamt eignet sich Cross Docking vor allem für Unternehmen mit vielen Wareneingängen und -ausgängen und planbaren Mengen. Dies ist zum Beispiel im Einzelhandel der Fall.

      2PL: Second Party Logistics Provider

      Vorteile von Cross Docking

      Als bestandsloses Distributionsverfahren ist das übergeordnete Ziel von Cross Docking das Ersetzen des Lagers für die entsprechende Warenart. Der direkte Umschlag im Cross Dock punktet dabei mit folgenden Vorteilen:

      • geringere Durchlaufzeiten
      • termingerechte Anlieferung
      • minimierte Lagerkapazitäten
      • reduzierte Lagerhaltungskosten
      • optimierter Warenbestand
      • verringerte Transportkosten

      Logistik mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit

      Reibungsloser Informations- und Datenfluss als Bedingung

      Beim Cross Docking kommt es vor allem auf einen reibungslosen Ablauf entlang der Supply Chain an. Um wirklich erfolgreich zu sein, muss die gesamte Logistik vom Transport bis zur IT-Lösung aufeinander abgestimmt sein. Als Lead Logistics Provider kümmert sich Huettemann um sämtliche Prozessschritte entlang der Supply Chain und sorgt für eine abgestimmte Lieferkette auf allen Ebenen. So können Optimierungsmöglichkeiten präzise erkannt werden – auch ob Cross Docking in manchen Fällen die bessere Lösung als das System „Lager“ ist. Diese und weitere Lösungen finden die Supply Chain Experten von Huettemann sowohl im unabhängigen Supply Chain Consulting für Neukunden als auch im bestehenden Supply Chain Management heraus.

      Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

      Schreiben Sie uns oder rufen Sie uns an.

      +49 2065 909 111

        *Pflichtfelder

        Leistungen

        In der Huettemann Group bündeln wir unser umfangreiches Leistungsportfolio für ein Ziel: Die perfekte, maßgeschneiderte Logistiklösung für Sie zu finden. Neben unseren globalen Transport- und Warehouse-Leistungen bieten wir Ihnen zahlreiche Logistikdienstleistungen entlang der gesamten Supply Chain. So entwickeln wir Logistikkonzepte mit Mehrwert, die zu ihnen passen.

        Gruppe

        Kompetent, vielfältig, leistungsstark und zukunftsorientiert: Als familiengeführtes internationales Logistikunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Duisburg machen wir seit mehr als 65 Jahren unsere Passion zur Profession und stehen heute mehr denn je für maßgeschneiderte Logistiklösungen entlang der gesamten Supply Chain.

        Referenzen

        Jede Bran­che hat ihre ei­ge­nen lo­gis­ti­schen An­for­de­run­gen. Als breit auf­ge­stell­tes Lo­gis­tik­un­ter­neh­men pas­sen wir uns den Wa­ren­strö­men und Wün­schen un­se­rer Kun­den an. Da­bei ge­hen wir noch ei­nen Schritt wei­ter: Wir wer­den fes­ter Be­stand­teil Ih­rer Pro­zess­ket­te.