09.09.2022 - Magazine

Special requirement in warehouse logistics: Efficient order picking

From transport logistics to warehouse logistics to complete supply chain management: logistics companies – especially lead logistics providers – cover services along the entire value chain. To ensure that goods ordered daily also reach the customer, order picking is an important interface between warehouse logistics and distribution. Innovative picking systems ensure smooth processes here – and thus economically decisive increases in efficiency. A perfect example of this is the paperless order picking system that Huettemann uses for its customers at the Isernhagen site.

Who hasn’t experienced it: ordered today and delivered tomorrow or in the shortest possible time. In Germany, 4.51 billion courier, express and parcel shipments (CEP) were sent last year. The increase in online trade in particular led to an increase of more than 11 percent compared to the previous year. Logistics companies have their hands full – and especially the order pickers. But what exactly is meant by order picking?

Definition: What is order picking?

Picking is the compilation of certain articles from a total assortment according to a given order. A so-called pick list forms the basis for the respective quantities of the articles to be packed. Alternatively, this can also be transmitted to the pickers in electronic form – for example, through paperless technologies such as the pick-by-light method.

Pick-by-Light: Automated paperless order picking

Pick-by-Light (PbL) is a paperless picking system that is not tied to a specific person. Instead of a pick list, the quantity of the respective item to be picked lights up for the pickers on a display directly at the picking compartment. Pick-by-Light is often controlled by and linked to the system of a higher-level picking facility – the warehouse management system.

Logistikdienstleister sind Unternehmen, die in erster Linie logistische Dienstleistungen entlang der Supply Chain übernehmen.

Order picking system instead of forklift: more efficiency through automation

Depending on the type of items in a warehouse, different conveyor techniques can be used for order picking. Very large items usually have to be transported from the warehouse to the picking location using industrial trucks. And this so-called person-to-goods picking can also be used for smaller items. However, it is more efficient with smaller items if the goods are automatically transported from the warehouse directly to the order picker. This way, the picker can take the quantity of goods specified by the warehouse management system and assemble them directly. This method of picking is called goods-to-person picking. An important basis for this is an order picking system like the one Huettemann uses at its warehouse location in Isernhagen.

Kommissionierungsanlage der Huettemann Logistik in Isernhagen

Paperless order picking system at the Isernhagen warehouse location

Due to the Huettemann customers served in Isernhagen, the warehouse location is optimised for small order picking. Individual warehouse concepts for each customer form the basis for efficient warehouse logistics. Special solutions for order picking are based on the customers’ requirements. For example, a leading stationery manufacturer has numerous orders for picking its pens every day. About ten to 15 products per order picking end up in a carton for Huettemann’s major customer – sometimes all different. A task that is almost impossible to solve manually or with classic picking processes, but above all absolutely inefficient. For this reason, Huettemann has been operating a paperless order picking system in the warehouse in Isernhagen since 2020, which is used for precisely such customers. Huettemann realised both the installation of the system on site and the entire integration of the IT by its own software experts.

Advantages of a paperless order picking system for numerous customers

The system in Isernhagen is a significant factor in increasing efficiency, and not only for the stationery manufacturer’s picking processes. Huettemann already picks numerous consignments for several companies with the system and can expand it individually if required. In this way, customers for whom small order picking makes sense can be easily integrated – according to their requirements and needs – and benefit from the advantages of the order picking system:

  • High order-picking performance by saving travel time
  • High, small article portfolio possible
  • Efficient packing, due to low error rate
  • 50% faster processes compared to classic order picking through Pick-by-Light
  • Less container (wear), e.g. due to pick-and-pack system*
  • High degree of automation for smoother processes
  • Precise overview of picking, thanks to real-time monitoring
  • Less labour costs that can be passed on to customers
  • Predestined for e-commerce / online shop orders thanks to direct integration into the warehouse management system

*Pick-and-pack system: goods packed directly into the correct cartons, which are pre-calculated via the system volume. In this way, the carton placed on the conveyor system is also the one that arrives at the customer in the end.

Order picking from Huettemann: Individual solutions

Huettemann put its first order picking system into operation 20 years ago and has since gained a lot of experience in this special area of warehouse logistics. As a lead logistics provider, the company now covers all processes along the supply chain from a single source. This means that projects such as the construction of a warehouse location including a paperless order picking system can be realised for individual customers without any problems. But it doesn’t always have to be a completely new installation: picking systems are usually multi-client capable and individually expandable. In the course of supply chain management, Huettemann therefore also optimises processes of different customers with already existing picking systems.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Schreiben Sie uns oder rufen Sie uns an.

+49 2065 909 111

    *required

    Services

    In the Huettemann Group we bundle our extensive service portfolio for one goal: to find the perfect, customised logistics solution for you. In addition to our global transport and warehouse services, we offer you numerous logistics services along the entire supply chain. In this way, we develop logistics concepts with added value that suit you.

    Group

    Competent, diverse, high-performance and future-oriented: As a family-run international logistics company with headquarters in Duisburg, we have been turning our passion into a profession for more than 65 years and today, more than ever, we stand for customised logistics solutions along the entire supply chain.

    References

    Every industry has its own logistical requirements. As a broadly positioned logistics company, we adapt to the goods flows and wishes of our customers. We go one step further: we become an integral part of your process chain.

09.09.2022 - Magazin

Besondere Anforderung in der Lagerlogistik: Effiziente Kommissionierung

Von der Transportlogistik über die Lagerlogistik bis zum kompletten Supply Chain Management: Logistikunternehmen – insbesondere Lead Logistics Provider – decken Dienstleistungen entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette ab. Damit täglich bestellte Waren auch beim Kunden ankommen, stellt die Kommissionierung eine wichtige Schnittstelle zwischen Lagerlogistik und Distribution dar. Innovative Kommissioniersysteme sorgen hier für reibungslose Prozesse – und damit für wirtschaftlich entscheidende Effizienzsteigerungen. Perfektes Beispiel dafür ist die beleglose Kommissionieranlage, die Huettemann am Standort Isernhagen für seine Kunden im Einsatz hat.

Wer kennt es nicht: Heute bestellt und morgen oder in kürzester Zeit schon geliefert. In Deutschland wurden im letzten Jahr 4,51 Milliarden Kurier-, Express- und Paketsendungen (KEP) verschickt. Vor allem die Zunahme des Online-Handels hat dabei zu einer Steigerung von mehr als 11 Prozent zum Vorjahr geführt. Alle Hände voll zu tun für Logistikunternehmen – und vor allem für die Kommissionierer. Doch was genau versteht man eigentlich unter Kommissionierung?

Definition: Was ist Kommissionierung?

Kommissionierung ist die Zusammenstellung von bestimmten Artikeln aus einem Gesamtsortiment nach einer vorgegebenen Bestellung. Eine sogenannte Pickliste bildet die Grundlage für die jeweiligen Mengen der zu verpackenden Artikel. Diese kann alternativ auch in elektronischer Form an die Kommissionierer bzw. Picker übermittelt werden – beispielsweise durch beleglose Technologien wie der Pick-by-Light-Methode.

Pick-by-Light: Automatisierte beleglose Kommissionierung

Pick-by-Light (PbL) ist ein belegloses Kommissioniersystem, das nicht personengebunden ist. Anstelle einer Pickliste leuchtet für die Kommissionierer auf einer Anzeige direkt am Entnahmefach die zu entnehmende Menge des jeweiligen Artikels auf. Pick-by-Light wird häufig durch das System einer übergeordneten Kommissionieranlage – dem Warehouse Management System – gesteuert und ist mit diesem verknüpft.

Logistikdienstleister sind Unternehmen, die in erster Linie logistische Dienstleistungen entlang der Supply Chain übernehmen.

Kommissionieranlage statt Gabelstapler: Mehr Effizienz durch Automatisierung

Je nach Art der Artikel in einem Lager können unterschiedliche Fördertechniken für die Kommissionierung eingesetzt werden. Sehr große Artikel müssen in der Regel mit Flurförderfahrzeugen aus dem Lager zum Kommissionierungsplatz transportiert werden. Und auch bei kleineren Artikeln kann diese sogenannte Person-zur-Ware-Kommissionierung eingesetzt werden. Effizienter wird es bei kleineren Artikeln allerdings, wenn die Ware automatisch aus dem Lager direkt zum Kommissionierer gelangt. So kann dieser die vom Warehouse Management System angegebene Menge der Waren entnehmen und sie direkt zusammenstellen. Diese Methode der Kommissionierung nennt sich Ware-zu-Person-Kommissionierung. Wichtige Grundlage dafür ist eine Kommissionieranlage, wie sie Huettemann am Lagerstandort Isernhagen einsetzt.

Kommissionierungsanlage der Huettemann Logistik in Isernhagen

Beleglose Kommissionieranlage am Lagerstandort Isernhagen

Aufgrund der in Isernhagen bedienten Kunden von Huettemann ist der Lagerstandort auf die Kleinkommissionierung optimiert. Individuelle Lagerkonzepte für jeden einzelnen Kunden bilden dabei das Fundament für die effiziente Lagerlogistik. Spezielle Lösungen bei der Kommissionierung richten sich dabei nach den Anforderungen der Kunden. So hat beispielsweise ein führender Schreibwarenhersteller täglich zahlreiche Aufträge zur Kommissionierung seiner Stifte. Etwa zehn bis 15 Produkte pro Kommissionierung landen für den als Großkunden von Huettemann in einem Karton – teilweise alle unterschiedlich. Händisch bzw. mit klassischen Kommissionierprozessen eine nahezu unlösbare, aber vor allem absolut ineffiziente Aufgabe. Deshalb betreibt Huettemann seit 2020 im Lager in Isernhagen eine beleglose Kommissionieranlage, die für genau solche Kunden eingesetzt wird. Dabei realisierte Huettemann sowohl die Installation der Anlage vor Ort als auch die gesamte Integration der IT durch eigene Software-Experten.

Vorteile einer beleglosen Kommissionieranlage für zahlreiche Kunden

Nicht nur für die Kommissionierprozesse des Schreibwarenherstellers ist die Anlage in Isernhagen ein erheblicher Faktor zur Effizienzsteigerung. Huettemann kommissioniert mit der Anlage für mehrere Unternehmen bereits zahlreiche Sendungen und kann sie bei Bedarf individuell erweitern. So können Kunden, für die Kleinkommissionierung sinnvoll ist, einfach integriert werden – ganz nach ihren Ansprüchen und Bedürfnissen – und von den Vorteilen der Kommissionieranlage profitieren:

  • Hohe Kommissionierleistung durch Einsparen von Wegzeiten
  • Hohes, kleinteiliges Artikelportfolio möglich
  • Effiziente Packweise, durch geringe Fehlerquote
  • 50% schnellere Prozesse gegenüber klassischer Kommissionierung durch Pick-by-Light
  • Weniger Behälter(-Verschleiß), z. B. durch Pick-and-Pack-System*
  • Hoher Automatisierungsgrad für reibungslosere Prozesse
  • Präziser Überblick über Kommissionierung, dank Echtzeitüberwachung
  • Weniger Personalkosten, die an Kunden weitergegeben werden können
  • Prädestiniert für E-Commerce / Online-Shop-Bestellungen durch direkte Integration ins Warehouse-Management-System

*Pick-and-Pack-System: Waren direkt in die richtigen Kartons gepackt, die über das Systemvolumen vorausberechnet sind. So ist der Karton auf die Fördertechnik aufgesetzte Karton am Ende auch der, der beim Kunden ankommt.

Kommissionierung von Huettemann: Individuelle Lösungen

Bereits vor 20 Jahren hat Huettemann seine erste Kommissionieranlage in Betrieb genommen und seitdem viel Erfahrung in diesem speziellen Bereich der Lagerlogistik gesammelt. Als Lead Logistics Provider deckt man mittlerweile sämtliche Prozesse entlang der Supply Chain aus einer Hand ab. So können Projekte wie der Aufbau eines Lagerstandortes inklusive einer beleglosen Kommissionieranlage problemlos für einzelne Kunden realisiert werden. Doch es muss nicht immer gleich ein kompletter Neuaufbau sein: Kommissionieranlagen sind in der Regel mehrmandantenfähig und individuell erweiterbar. Im Zuge des Supply Chain Managements optimiert Huettemann Prozesse unterschiedlicher Kunden deshalb auch mit bereits bestehenden Kommissioniersystemen.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Schreiben Sie uns oder rufen Sie uns an.

+49 2065 909 111

    *Pflichtfelder

    Leistungen

    In der Huettemann Group bündeln wir unser umfangreiches Leistungsportfolio für ein Ziel: Die perfekte, maßgeschneiderte Logistiklösung für Sie zu finden. Neben unseren globalen Transport- und Warehouse-Leistungen bieten wir Ihnen zahlreiche Logistikdienstleistungen entlang der gesamten Supply Chain. So entwickeln wir Logistikkonzepte mit Mehrwert, die zu ihnen passen.

    Gruppe

    Kompetent, vielfältig, leistungsstark und zukunftsorientiert: Als familiengeführtes internationales Logistikunternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Duisburg machen wir seit mehr als 65 Jahren unsere Passion zur Profession und stehen heute mehr denn je für maßgeschneiderte Logistiklösungen entlang der gesamten Supply Chain.

    Referenzen

    Jede Bran­che hat ihre ei­ge­nen lo­gis­ti­schen An­for­de­run­gen. Als breit auf­ge­stell­tes Lo­gis­tik­un­ter­neh­men pas­sen wir uns den Wa­ren­strö­men und Wün­schen un­se­rer Kun­den an. Da­bei ge­hen wir noch ei­nen Schritt wei­ter: Wir wer­den fes­ter Be­stand­teil Ih­rer Pro­zess­ket­te.